The provisions of the new LAMC Section 85.02 become effective 7 January and shall expire 1 July 2018, unless extended by ordinance. The Los Angeles Police Department (LAPD) has indicated enforcement will begin in early February. (This information was taken almost verbatim from the lacity.org site.)
When enforcement begins in February, call LAPD, Pacific Division (310) 482-6334 unless another number is given for violation. For penalty see Venice Update article.
Living in a vehicle (vehicle dwelling) is prohibited at all times within one block (500 feet) of licensed schools, pre-schools, daycare facilities, or parks.
Persons may live in a vehicle:
- Daytime Hours – between 6 am and 9 pm – more than one block (500 feet) away from licensed schools, pre-schools, daycare facilities, or parks;
- Nighttime Hours – between 9:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m. – in non-residentially zoned areas which are more than one block (500 feet) away from licensed schools, pre-schools or daycare facilities or parks.
- General reminder:
- Vehicles must comply with all posted parking restrictions at all times.
All vehicles driven or parked on a California street, road or highway must be registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and insured. One may qualify for the California Low-Cost Automobile Insurance Program. Information is available on the Department of Insurance website or by calling 1-866-602-8861.
- Any vehicle that has been parked on a city street or highway for 72 hours or more can be reported as an abandoned vehicle.
- Parking in alleys is illegal at all times.
- Vehicles without an engine, wheels, or some other part necessary for safely driving the vehicle are subject to immediate impounding.